Designing a Tech Road Map

Designing a Tech Road Map

KEY POINTS FROM AN EXPERT'S PERSPECTIVE ON DESIGNING A CAREER ROADMAP

WHAT IS A TECHNOLOGY ROADMAP?

A technology roadmap is a high-level graphic overview that depicts the goals and strategies for a challenging technological project. Technology roadmaps are used by both individuals and businesses to plan and oversee internal IT projects. Roadmaps can either be linear or non-linear.

BENEFIT OF A ROADMAP

  1. Roadmaps assist in ensuring that team members are aware of the scope, goals, and schedule of an effort.
  2. They also assist people in control in swiftly sharing status updates and objectives.

DESIGNING A TECH CAREER ROADMAP

It is vital to comprehend the two types of tech roles as an individual before considering beginning a career in technology. These are the tech roles:

  1. Developer roles e.g Software Developer, Mobile App developer, etc.
  2. Non-developer roles e.g. Data Analyst, Product Management, Operations, etc.

HOW DO I UNDERSTAND MY STRENGTHS AND SKILLS

Skills might be either hard or soft. Soft skills include presenting skills, negotiating skills, communication skills, adaptability skills, etc. Hard skills include technical writing, programming, graphic design, and use of platforms like social media, discord, slack, etc. Knowing one's obstacles or limitations, such as inconsistency, information overload, fear, etc., is crucial for determining one's strengths.

my own.png

TRANSITIONING INTO TECH

Even if you get to enjoy the notion of developing answers to problems, transitioning into IT can be exhausting. There are a few tips for transitioning, including discovering your interests, taking an introduction course, trying out a side project, joining a community, finding a mentor, and figuring out your transferrable talents.

DISTINGUISHING MYSELF AND GETTING NOTICED

So how can I stand out when every practice that is possible has already been used? Certainly, by;

  • Being Consistent.
  • Working Hard.
  • Being Diligent.
  • An attitude of leadership.
  • Being Original.
  • Marking my successes.
  • A constant asset to my team.
  • Being on time.
  • Online sharing of my efforts and knowledge.
  • Document my wins.
  • Volunteer. Reference: Treford

ACCELERATING MY TECH CAREER

I want to advance in my tech career by being involved in communities, going to tech events, networking, volunteering, subscribing to newsletters, and reading tech news on reputable websites like Techcabal, Techpoint, Techcrunch, etc. I don't want to overwork myself since I know that life is a series of stages, and doing so could lead to a serious breakdown and reduce my productivity. Instead, I pursue personal growth and learning so that I can transition from what I enjoy and am good at to what I can be paid for and what the world needs. (Interesting quote from a Japanese word, "IKIGAI," from my virtual mentor Yewande Odumosu)

Additionally, learning more is advised as I develop because technology is constantly changing. By enrolling in classes on reputable websites like Udacity, Udemy, Coursera, Freecodecamp, Codeacademy, etc., I hope to develop myself.

CREDITS (REFERENCE) Yewande Odumosu, Treford. "Designing a Tech Career Roadmap". Youtube, 22, Jan.2022,